Jamf 100 vs 200 vs 300

jalbert
Contributor

We are looking at getting certification. If we pass the 100 exam and get the Associate, what does the 200 teach that you wouldn't need to learn to pass the 100. I know the 100 is self paced and not a proctored exam, but if you are confident you know the material, what benefit is taking the 200 course.

I have been using Jamf for about 4 years now for Mobile and Computer management.

Can one jump straight to the 300 course, skipping the 200?

8 REPLIES 8

Hugonaut
Valued Contributor II

The 200 is very beneficial if you have little experience with Jamf.

after 4 years you can without a doubt jump right into the 300 course (if you can go straight to 300) depending on your experience level with Jamf / Scripting

after 1 year with jamf & 2 years administrating Macs I went straight into the 200 course and breezed through it wasn't beneficial given my experience level. It's very JPS Dashboard focused and you don't really touch scripting at all, you barely scratch the surface and you don't touch the API at all. The 200 course is Heavy on packaging software & setting up policies, configuration profiles, etc. basically in depth workshops regarding the jps dashboard / gui side settings. Always something new to learn in the courses. No doubt.

Before taking the 200, I was already working with the API, Scripting Shell & Applescript, I set up multiple jamf servers & infrastructure for our environment, deploying with dep/prestage enrollments, etc.

Virtual MacAdmins Monthly Meetup - First Friday, Every Month

tak10
Contributor II

100 is optional.

200 or old CCT is required for you to get certified at 300 level. Not sure if they prevent you from taking the 300 course but in order be certified at 300 level, you will need 200 or CCT (if you were certified during JAMF Casper Suite version 9) in order to achieve 300 level certification.

boberito
Valued Contributor

You can't skip levels other than the 100.