Jamf Pro and Eset Protect Antivirus for Mac Agent Yes Client No

Michael_Lynn
New Contributor II

Hey folks,

I am sort of new to Jamf Pro and I am having a bit of an issue getting the ESET client on our Mac's   Using Jamf Pro the agent goes on without issue and it seems like the needed extensions are dealt with as well but it is not adding the client or showing up on my Eset Protect on premise server console (v8.1)   I have been working with ESET for a couple of years but I am just a few months into Jamf Pro.   Anyone else have any suggestions.   I set things up using eset kb7324 which talks about eset and Jamf Pro.   Also these are M1 macs so I have rosetta turned on and EEA in the script to add the antivirus.   When this did not work I tried to push the client as a policy using the .dmg but that did not work and it seems like to even do that I really need a .pkg file.   Any help would be greatly appreciated.

7 REPLIES 7

Michael_Lynn
New Contributor II

Ok it looks like I need to do my homework on Composer to repackage the .dmg as a .pkg file.   Yes it is not really obvious I am a big time noob at JamfPro. 

PaulHazelden
Valued Contributor

We used to have ESET. The Agent gets built and installed by a script from what I recall. The ESET server gives it to you. Then you need to have an action in ESET to look for devices with Agent on them and it will then push the Client to the Mac and set it up.

ESET really want you to use them as the MDM for Macs, and then it is an easy task to get ESET on the Macs.
Its been a year or so since I last used ESET so they might have changed their methods since then.

I ended up using Composer to create a package file and tried to deploy with a policy just so the user could have an active Anti Virus program.   But got this result.

Executing Policy Deploy Eset Client (Manual)
Downloading eea_osx_en.pkg...
Downloading https://use1-jcds.services.jamfcloud.com//download/ed6cebe71e1442428c3c7510246b8cfc/eea_osx_en.pkg?t......