Jamf Pro - Azure AD

user-OHTrLNQCsZ
New Contributor III

Hi all

I am new to Jamf.

I am looking to start enrolling our mac fleet into Jamf Pro. (we have v 10.26).
We have AD on prem and bind Macs to a domain.

I have some questions:

Is it recommended to connect to Azure AD before or after enrolling our fleet?
Is there any downside to connecting to azure AD before enrolling the fleet?
Where does LDAP come in? (I understand version 10.27 is released this week which allows integration into Azure AD. Does this mean it will replace LDAP?

thanks

17 REPLIES 17

Cayde-6
Release Candidate Programs Tester

10.27 integrates with Azure AD and works the same way as LDAP within Jamf Pro, if you are at the point of rolling our your fleet then perhaps integrating with Azure AD would be a good thing to do now rather than later.

I've just done the integration to 10.27 on my MDM and the process was straight forward, you can then look into using custom enrolment and using Azure SSO during the setup process.

user-OHTrLNQCsZ
New Contributor III

Is there any downside to enrolling the fleet first? And then hooking up to Azure AD later down the line?

Are there any other considerations at this point?

Cayde-6

So the only reason I can see is if you enabled now with custom enrolment then it will associate the Azure AD account with the device in Jamf Pro so a sort of account and auditing.

You can do this post rollout but its a manual API task instead of automated

user-OHTrLNQCsZ
New Contributor III

And whats the problem with associating the Azure AD account with the device?

Cayde-6

There wasn't a problem, it was the only positive item I could think of.

user-OHTrLNQCsZ
New Contributor III

thanks I got the wrong end of the stick there.

user-OHTrLNQCsZ
New Contributor III

Has anyone else got any thoughts on the original post?

Tribruin
Valued Contributor II