launch agent script to clean user desktop folder

supersizeal
Contributor

Does anyone have a simple script to delete the local standard user accounts desktop files on restart? Sorry, I have limited scripting knowledge.
Thank You!

5 REPLIES 5

skypointer
New Contributor II

I would be interested in knowing what options are available to "reset" a user profile by removing data regularly on about 25 managed machines. We previously used Deep Freeze but are moving away from that program now. Any input would be greatly appreciated.

AJPinto
Honored Contributor II

Why are we wanting to delete the users desktop files on restart? This is something that is extremely dangerous. I strongly recommend doing a lot of research before trying to deploy something that will delete files wholesale like this. The command below figures out who the currently logged in user is, and than cans that in to a variable to call a bit later to know whos desktops contents to delete. You can add to the script giving if statements to check if the logged in user is an admin, but this will complicate the script and you wanted something simple. I would recommend just use JAMF and set exclusions if you need something simple. This script could be baked in to a policy to run at logout, but again do a lot of research before using "rm -rf" like this.

#!/bin/bash

#*=============================================================================
#* GLOBAL VARIABLES
#*=============================================================================
DIV1='####################################################################'
DIV2='--------------------------------------------------------------------'
DIV3='....................................................................'
ActiveUser=`ls -l /dev/console 
    | awk '{ print $3 }' 
    | tr "[a-z]" "[A-Z]"`
ActiveUserRealName=`dscl . -read /Users/$ActiveUser 
    | grep RealName: 
    | cut -c11-`
if [[ -z $ActiveUserRealName ]]; then