Mac Pro won't allow login after being idle for some time

jbygden
New Contributor III

I have a MacPro (or 2 actually since I just installed a new one to replace the one I’ve been using for 3 years) that most of the time refuses to allow me to login after being idle for a while (overnight, over lunch etc.) I can ssh into it but not access it with ARD. When I arrive at my desk and touch the keyboard or mouse I can see the monitors going on (getting a signal from the MacPro to turn back on after sleep, but they all remain black (albeit with visible “background light”). reboot via ssh will do nothing more than kick me out of my ssh-session, and not let me back in. The only way I’ve found to resolve it when it happens is to power cycle the Mac - that works every time.

Anyone else seen this, or have some tips on troubleshooting/solving the issue?

MacPro (Late 2013) MacPro6,1
Apple 27" Thunderbolt Display
Dell 27" LED Display *2
Apple Wireless Keyboard (2009)
Apple Magic Mouse 2
MacOS 10.13.1 High Sierra (17B48)

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

jbygden
New Contributor III

So, now it's been two weekends since my last update - last Monday I had to work from home due to a sick daughter and I had the machine reboot due to an update.

This weekend it seems solved - so probably the 're-install' solved it.

View solution in original post

7 REPLIES 7

Sonic84
Contributor III

I see this on some of my MacPro servers. The only work-around I've found is to reboot via SSH. My servers are headless, but to have a display accelerator plugged in: http://www.newertech.com/products/hdmi_headless_video_adapter.php

jbygden
New Contributor III

Yeah, well, the only thing a reboot from ssh accomplishes is to kick me out of my ssh-session, and denying any new sessions...

AVmcclint
Honored Contributor