Managed Software Updates - using deferrals via a mass action

eric_skinner
New Contributor III
New Contributor III

Hi all,

Wanted to share that we are actively developing to implement deferrals in an upcoming beta release of Jamf Pro, targeting between Q4 of 2021 and Q1 of 2022 to solve for the below use case.

As a Jamf Admin, I want to issue a remote command for my macOS devices to update their OS, while also giving them the option to defer the OS update so that their critical workflows aren’t interrupted (ex. during a presentation), while also ensuring they stay up to date

Example mass action/remote command workflows moving forward:

• (Existing) Admins can issue a remote command to a set of devices to download and install to an upgraded version of macOS ASAP, restarting end-user machines as necessary
  • (Existing) Admins can issue a remote command to a set of devices to download to an upgraded version of macOS and notify the end user
  • (Upcoming, net new) Admins can issue a remote command to a set of devices to download to an upgraded version of macOS and notify the end user, and input a MaxUserDeferrals integer between 1-90, which will allow the end users to snooze a software between 1-90 days
  • Potential future functionality:
    • Ability to issue these commands via API
    • Ability to schedule these commands
    • Ability to issue these commands via policy

We are actively developing this and will be able to communicate a timeline once we are able to determine which Beta release it is planned for.

Please feel free to offer up and questions, comments, or feedback here, thanks!

Eric Skinner

Jamf Pro Product Owner

38 REPLIES 38

stephenb
New Contributor III

Definitely like the sound of issuing these via a policy! Looking forward to this!

dtommey
New Contributor III