McAfee ePO agent and menu items

SQR
New Contributor

We've been requested to test and deploy McAfee in our environment so its pretty new. We have the ePO server side set-up. but am curious about a few things with testing and further deploying.

These test machines our not on our domain yet, we wanted to test the agent and get that all squared away...however perhaps Im new to this or missing some pieces, on one of the prebuilt systems we had there was a McAfee Endpoint Protection for Mac app installed, but when we run the agent, Im not getting that. is that a different piece or does that only pull down when connected to our network?

Secondly, I read through the packaging process discussion. But what pieces do you include in putting together the McAfee ePO agent and McAfee Endpoint Protection for Mac app?

Thanks!

5 REPLIES 5

May
Contributor III

Hi @SQR

We're just running through this also, once the ePO agent is installed on the Mac the ePO should manage installation of McAfee Endpoint Protection for Mac app.

If you check on the ePO > System Tree > select the Mac > you should see a products tab, this will show you what's installed at that point.

on the mac you can run sudo /Library/McAfee/agent/bin/cmdagent -i to see details inc the last time it checked in with the ePO, use -h to get a list of all commands available.

Here's the info to package and install the ePO agent

Download the install script from the ePO and package it as per the discussion above.

Cheers,
Andy

SQR
New Contributor

Oh okay, so it should it trigger the GUI Mac app from the ePO? since these aren't on the same network currently, its just run off a temporary network that for this purpose we're being kept off. so I'm to assume thats why the Mac app is not being installed or showing on the Mac.