Mounting Windows Hosted Network Drives

user-kmLBwPhtha
New Contributor

Hi Everyone,

I am very new to Jamf and I have scoured the forums high and low. What I am needing to do is mount three separate directories hosted on a Windows file server. The directories need to be seen as separate directories when mounted on a Mac. For instance we have a: G: drive, I: drive, and H: drive. All of these drives are just directories that are shared from one server. The H: drive is what would be an employee's self storage for work. I believe it has an object in Active Directory because it is mapped like this in a Windows environment "servernameshortname$." I would like to know if anyone has recommendations on a script that will take care of this, or if Jamf Pro has a feature built into it that will allow this to happen, that's great too! All of the Mac's on campus are binded to Active Directory so that any user on campus has the ability to login to them, but they are placed in a "No-inheritance" container.

Here is a copy of the script I have started with, but I am not seeing any of the mounts at all.

"#!/bin/bash

theuser=$(/usr/bin/who | awk '/console/{ print $1 }')
/usr/bin/osascript > /dev/null << EOT

tell application "Finder" activate mount volume "smb://servername/shared directory/" mount volume "smb://servername/shared directory/" end tell

EOT

echo $theuser
killall cfprefsd
defaults write com.apple.finder ShowMountedServersOnDesktop true
killall -HUP Finder"

The server name would be replaced with our server, and the shared directory is replaced with the name of the shared directory. I have not had the chance to tackle the H: drive much. It will be different because it is user specific.

3 REPLIES 3

PaulHazelden
Valued Contributor

I am using Catalina here, and I gave up trying to script this, so that it works automatically. Osascript needs permission to launch and then to access Finder, and when a launchAgent sets this off for me, it never asks for this permission.