NetBIOS name

ciretruk
New Contributor

I am very new to managing apple computer, or even using them for that matter. We are running 32 IMAC's on a windows domain. I am still learning how to use Casper and have re imaged from an external hard drive. Until i learn Casper better its what I know how to do. The problem is my computers that I have imaged have lost their Binding with the domain every 30 days. I have noticed that All of the IMACs have the same NetBIOS name and I cant get them to change. Does anyone know how to fix this or if it's even the cause of the problem?

11 REPLIES 11

RobertHammen
Valued Contributor II

/usr/bin/defaults read /Library/Preferences/SystemConfiguration/com.apple.smb.server NetBIOSName will tell you what the name is.

sudo /usr/bin/defaults write /Library/Preferences/SystemConfiguration/com.apple.smb.server NetBIOSName NAMEYOUWANT will set it.

Not sure if you're familiar with scutil to set the HostName/LocalHostName/ComputerName...

/usr/sbin/scutil --get LocalHostName
sudo /usr/sbin/scutil --set LocalHostName NameYouWant

Then you could use:
sudo /usr/bin/defaults write /Library/Preferences/SystemConfiguration/com.apple.smb.server.plist NetBIOSName $(/usr/sbin/scutil --get LocalHostName)

Oddly having NetBIOSName issues even though our network guys tell us that NetBIOS isn't an issue, yet security is asking us about weird named computers that we don't have listed having. THIS ^^^ worked!!! Thank you Robert!

ciretruk
New Contributor

Thanks I'll try it out

eclemens
New Contributor II

A little clarification - there are three "names" applied to Macintosh OSX computers.

Using the command "scutil", they are defined as: HostName = the Unix name for the device (under Server, this should be a fully qualified domain name) ComputerName = the Mac OS name for the device (the name broadcast on the network) LocalHostName = the "zeroconf" network name for the device (a.k.a. - Apple's "Bonjour" protocol)