New to JAMF Pro

user-locYkmlYYq
New Contributor II

I came on staff here 5 months ago to do video, media, and marketing, and since I was good with computers, they added asset management to my duties.

So I'm very new to mobile device management (meaning I've been using Macs since 1987 and never heard of MDM until I got this job)

I got thrown into JAMF Now and it seemed pretty simple to follow and to get things done for our company and it's 90 Apple devices. But by boss just switched to Jamf Pro and now I have to figure out the transition for all of our devices.

We didn't spring for the expensive onboarding service so I'm having to figure this out on my own. I was given this link to follow the steps to getting our devices disconnected from our JAMF Now MDM and over to our JAMF Pro.

https://www.jamf.com/blog/mdm-migration-in-8-easy-steps/

However, the first step says to download Jamf Recon from my "Assets" tab. But I have no Jamf Recon link to download the app. And I can't seem to find a link anywhere.

What am I missing? Where can I get Jamf Recon?

Are those instructions outdated? Is there a better way to transition from JAMF Now to JAMF Pro?

I would appreciate any help for a NEWB.

5 REPLIES 5

mhasman
Valued Contributor

First, Welcome!
2nd... I would recommend to check with your Jamf Business Rep first. Your might get help from Jamf support directly, fast and professional

user-locYkmlYYq
New Contributor II

I've been kind of disappointed with my business rep. He just keeps pushing Jumpstart, or tells me to try the discussions here on JAMF Nation. He's the one that sent me that link. I emailed him two weeks ago saying that I couldn't find the Jamf Recon link and I still haven't heard from him.

I asked him these questions and this is all he replied with:

Me:
I’m having a bit of difficulty. Is there someone I can talk to, or is there a tutorial online that clearly, and simply outlines the steps I need to take to transition from Jamf Now to Jamf Pro?