OFFICE UPDATE QUESTION 14.3.1

wmateo
Contributor

Hello All, I am new to casper. I am trying to deploy 14.3.1 office 2011 update via casper remote, but it seems to be failing with nothing in the logs pointing to as why. I am on office 14.2.3 which meets my requirement. am I missing something?

12 REPLIES 12

tuinte
Contributor III

First, make sure an Office app isn't open (I like to set such policies to run at login in order to avoid this). The other thing I find is that almost all but the smallest packages will error out unless cached first.

So, in the JSS web interface, edit the policy so that under Packages, the package you're adding should be designated to Cache, not install. Then create another policy to install that cached package (I set this to run at login).

It might seem like unnecessary work, but it's nice in that you can set the caching policy to run via trigger15. It just copies the package to the local computer, so it can be run whenever, nobody is disturbed. Throughout the day, everyone gets the package saved nice and local. Then the install policy takes it from there whenever the user logs in, and actually installs the update.

Michael

franton
Valued Contributor III

I'm fairly sure 14.3.1 requires 14.3.0 to be installed first.

nessts
Valued Contributor II

no
http://support.microsoft.com/kb/2814835
says 14.2.3 required

mm2270
Legendary Contributor III

Right, from the support page listing requirements:

"Additionally, you must install the Microsoft Office for Mac 2011 14.2.3 update before you install the Office for Mac 2011 14.3.1 "

franton
Valued Contributor III

That'll teach me to go off memory!

wmateo: can you post the exact error log?

Not applicable

Are other packages deploying and installing as you'd expect? How did you create your original Office 2011 deployment? Are you trying to simply deploy MS' own 14.3.1 .mpkg or did you do something different?

Do you have HTTP enabled, or are you using afp or smb? Is your server local?