Parallels script help

krichterjr
Contributor

I'm working on cleaning up our licensing for Parallels as we have a few different license keys that have been used over the years.

I'm trying to build an Extension Attribute that either provides me the key or tell me it's "wrong". If the license key is the correct one it will have a line "key_number=" and the key will begin with "PDEI". If it doesn't have the correct key, this line either won't exist or the key will be something other than "PDEI".

I'm a total rookie at scripting so what I've put together is purely by piecing together other scripts with a whole lot of trial and error. Here is what I've come up with so far.

PDKey=$(prlsrvctl info --license | grep 'key_number' | awk '{print $1}')

if [ $PDKey -eq 0 ];
then
echo "<result>Wrong</result>"
else
echo "<result>$PDKey</result>"
fi

This is the error I get on a machine with the correct key:

-bash: [: key_number="PDEI.xxxxxxxx.xxxxx": integer expression expected
<result>key_number="PDEI.xxxxxxxx.xxxxx"</result>

This is the error I get on a machine with an incorrect key:

-bash: [ -eq: unary operation expected
<result></result>

I would be truly greatfull if anyone is able to help me clean this up or has an easier way to do this.

Thanks!

Kenny

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

mm2270
Legendary Contributor III

My mistake on not explaining one additional thing. To use =~, you need to use double bracket notation, like this:

if [[ "$PDKey" =~ "PDEI" ]];
then
    echo "Yes"
else
    echo "No"
fi

Give it a try with the double brackets. it should work. The single brackets will give you the 'binary operator expected' error you saw. I actually make it a habit of using double brackets for nearly all evaluation stuff in scripts. There are far fewer instances where single brackets works than when it fails.

Edit: to answer your other question, you can use either cut or awk with a field definition to grab only the piece of data you want.