Please login to you iTunes account

rchawla
New Contributor III

Hi all. I'm new to all of this. I'm trying to manage an iPad 2 running iOS 9.2, JSS 9.81 and Configurator 2. I'm adding apps through VPP and the JSS and I'm getting the "Please login to your iTunes account to install apps from "xxxx.xxxx.edu" (our server)" on the iPad with a cancel or Sign In option. The iPad is supervised and the apps are free, added - I believe - properly in JSS.

Any thoughts? Has anyone else seen this? Under Mobile Devices > Management - if I update inventory, I see the same message in the JSS under status.

15 REPLIES 15

Nick_Gooch
Contributor III

Do you have the app set to be assigned to a device? Under Mobile Devices > Apps > App Name > VPP Tab > Check the box "Assign VPP Content"

rchawla
New Contributor III

I do, yes. It also says the 1 is in use.

DennisC
New Contributor

I'm in a similar situation, but when I click on the VPP tab, I get "Content not available to assign to mobile devices".

RLR
Valued Contributor
I'm in a similar situation, but when I click on the VPP tab, I get "Content not available to assign to mobile devices".

@DennisC

This message usually appears when you haven't purchased any licenses for that app yet. Even for free apps, you still need to purchase licenses from the VPP portal.

jcowley
New Contributor

I am also having issues with this. We "purchased" 120 free apps from our VPP account, which shows in our JSS. But we are still getting that the command failed and it says, "Please log in to your iTunes Store account."

RLR
Valued Contributor

@jcowley This sounds like the app isn't being assigned via the VPP tab in the App Catalog.

Can you double check that the app has this tick box applied and that you have enough licenses:

9040193b13d84e4398a67df76e79c6a3

rchawla
New Contributor III