Prestage to Prestage and enrollment - iPads

jAscanio
New Contributor II

I am new to our organisation and to JAMF PRO, but loving it so far.

I frequently move newly purchased ipads from a "catch all" prestage enrollment and over into the proper prestage enrollment for the specific site where they will be enrolled. Sometimes when I move these devices, same day, 1-2 of the devices will not see the correct prestage despite showing up there inside my JAMF console. (My Catch all prestage indicates that credentials must be used to enroll, the site it was moved to does not.) Is there a hard rule on how long to wait before enrollment after this is changed? Or is there anything I can do to get this to 'snap in' and see the new prestage?

5 REPLIES 5

Krbonus
Contributor

This happens to me sometimes if I turn the iPad on (if it's brand new) then put them on their respective pre-stage and I usually have to do a wipe command for that correct pre-stage to kick in.

I had better luck on switching the pre-stage first before turning on the iPad.

RBaber
New Contributor

I usually just group my iPads together and add them to a PreStage Enrollment. I would plug them into a iPad Cart with syncing capability, then use Apple Configurator to pull the serial numbers. Then i would mass wipe all 30 then add them to the Prestage. At that point i add a Wifi Configuration through Apple Configurator 2 and they all enroll into the right spot.

RBaber
New Contributor

That issue you are having is the exact reason i don't have a global configuration. Devices bought through Apple and using Device Enrollment Portal usually has my devices ready to search by the time my iPads arrive.

jAscanio
New Contributor II