Re-claiming VPP codes deployed with JSS

nick_presko
New Contributor III

Does anybody know what the process is for re-claiming VPP codes in JSS? I work in a school with 333 enrolled iOS devices so obviously students come and go and since different grades use different apps, recycling VPP codes would be extremely beneficial. I find it hard to believe (well with Apple I probably shouldn't) that these apps are consumables and that recycling VPP codes does not have a clearly defined process.

Any help would be appreciated.

13 REPLIES 13

jwojda
Valued Contributor II

from what I understand, they VPP codes are treated as disposable. they are not transferable.

JPDyson
Valued Contributor

They are, indeed, disposable - but that's not the end of the world. For one thing, a lot of people stop thinking of Apps as, well, Apps - they're cheap as chips compared to to most software for Macs, more along the lines of office supplies. So, in some cases, you just don't care that you "lose" them any more than you care about a few pens or post-its.

In the case of more expensive apps (or should the "Apps as Office Supplies" argument fail to convince) you can create AppleID's that are associated with the devices, and not with the users. This has the benefit of licenses staying with you/the device when the user moves on, but you now have to do a little more management. Thanks to iOS 6 (or was it 5?) App updates no longer require re-entering your password, so the other major downside has been removed.

mm2270
Legendary Contributor III

The description from JPDyson is exactly how Apple views the iOS App model. They are considered consumables inside of Apple and not treated as full blown software purchases. That's partly why Apple has worked to drive the cost of the apps down so low with developers.