“Reinstall a Clean macOS with One Button” webinar resource page

talkingmoose

Hi everyone!

For those who attended Jamf’s “Reinstall a Clean macOS with One Button” webinar this week, we’ll have the recording posted hopefully sometime next week. In the meantime, here’s the link to the resources discussed.

https://jamf.it/eraseinstall-webinar

115 REPLIES 115

gachowski
Valued Contributor II

I copy the OS installer and startosinstall script to machines then run the script. I have seen that sometimes (almost every time) the OS installer gets "made by untrusted vendor" message are you sure you want to open? When this happened my script quits and the OS fails to start the install. I just manually run the installer in the GUI quit it and then run the script... Is it possible that you are seeing the same issue but not the same symptoms? What happens when you run the installer in the GUI after the failure?

C

davidhiggs
Contributor III

I’ve been using this for a few years now, highly recommended: https://github.com/kc9wwh/macOSUpgrade/

mhegge
Contributor III

No getting any "made by untrusted...." No errors in policy logs. The Mojave installer is fresh on this machine. Just ran the same policy on identical machine a short time ago. It makes zero sense. @davidhiggs Not upgrading, wiping and installing.

mhegge
Contributor III

Running the command right in terminal has the same results. Nothing. No errors. No dialog box messages.

nelsoni
Contributor III

I know it is a dumb question, but you are sure the macOS installer is cached in Applications?

mhegge
Contributor III

@talkingmoose Any input? I am stumped.

mhegge
Contributor III

system.log

7bae3e2a81684f6bbdd30598f47f16eb

mhegge
Contributor III