Run or execute or launch a script immediately

binjali
Contributor

This might be an easy answer, but my searching isn't giving me helpful information

How do I get a script or any remote command to execute when I want to?  Like, issuing specific remote execution.  i know this is something that most security practices try to stop from ever happening, but when I'm trouble shooting, or testing, or whatever, I want to see immediate actions.  I've tried to push a script using a policy, but its not doing what I want when I want. I'm new to Jamf and I don't know how to make anything work.

10 REPLIES 10

sdagley
Esteemed Contributor II

@binjali If you have a policy scoped to a machine then running the command "sudo jamf policy" in Terminal on that machine should immediately trigger it

is there a way of injecting or sending that from my JamfCloud Portal or local install of JamfAdmin?

YanW
Contributor III

I'm speaking for myself, I totally agree using custom trigger, 100%, but for me, just me alone, I use Jamf Remote. It's going away soon, very very soon, I know. All my users are on site, not remote or VPN, so it works for "me" and "now". I enable remote desktop for the specific computer in Jamf then open Jamf Remote, select the computer and script, done. 

Sorry, I have to be careful every time I mention Jamf Remote. 

sdagley
Esteemed Contributor II

@binjali Jamf Admin isn't applicable, and you would create the Script and the Policy to run it using your Jamf Cloud hosted Jamf Pro Console. Using a Script payload in a Policy to run it would be the recommended way so that you can see the log for what happens.

Jamf Remote _may_ work if your users are all on site as @YanW mentions, but if not it's essentially useless  because it does not allow manually entering the IP address of the Mac endpoint when Jamf Pro can't determine that on its own. I _think_ Jamf intends to retire it as some point, so I definitely wouldn't invest any time in developing a workflow for it.