SCCM vs Casper Suite

ProfFrnswrth
New Contributor II

Hey everyone, I am pretty new to Casper and the community and thought why not break the ice by asking a general question. What is the advantage of using Casper Suite over SCCM? Our company currently uses SCCM to manage our Windows users and they are stating that it can do everything Casper can do for Mac as well.

I did some research and came across http://blogs.technet.com/b/pauljones/archive/2013/06/02/managing-mac-os-x-with-system-center-2012-configuration-manager.aspx . I know there are differences I am just wondering if someone could point out some of the major advantages to Casper over SCCM.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

calumhunter
Valued Contributor

Ok biggest drawbacks are:

1. it can't do OS deployment, so if you need to take a machine and put an image on it, you'll need to do this with something else ie netboot/netrestore or deploystudio or something similar

2. It can't install packages in unattended mode. So basically if you have a bunch of machines sitting at the login window that you wish to deploy software to it can't do it. When a user logs in they will get a prompt to install each item you have targeted to the machine, the user must accept and wait for the install to happen. Or the user can ignore the prompt and the software will not be installed.

3. It will not force install packages on deadline even though you specify it. This again goes back to not being able to install software unattended. A user is prompted to install, but can simply dismiss this and the software does not install.

4. Support is terrible, over 4 months from the public release of 10.8 before they added support for 10.8 by releasing a new SCCM Agent. Without this update 10.8 clients could not connect to SCCM at all.