Script to see if Firefox is running

elund
New Contributor III

I'm having trouble with a script to see if Firefox is running. I am by no means a coder, so any help is appreciated.

Here is what I am trying -

#!/bin/bash

process="Firefox"
processrunning=$( ps axc | grep "${process}" )

if [ "$processrunning" != "" ] ; then echo "$process IS running, we do nothing now"

else echo $process IS NOT running - run custom trigger here to update"

fi

exit 0

5 REPLIES 5

joshuasee
Contributor III

The application name shown in the GUI usually matches the process or executable name, but nothing in OS X requires this. Firefox is one of the exceptions in this regard. The executable name on current versions is "firefox" and was "firefox-bin" on earlier ones. You could add the -i switch to the grep statement to ignore case or change the ps arguments to axww, which will retrieve the full path of the app, including the GUI name. The latter technique does not require you to know the executable name, but increases the risk of false positives, including from the grep process itself.

joshuasee
Contributor III

One other tidbit: In my experience, Firefox will actually tolerate being overwritten while running, so I don't bother checking before updating it.

wubbelsl
New Contributor II

You can use:

#!/bin/sh
process="Firefox"
processrunning=$(pgrep -i $process)

if [ $processrunning != "" ] 
then
     echo $process " is running. Run policy with notification to user that Firefox will be shut down."
     jamf policy -id #####
else
     echo $process " is NOT running. Run policy without notification.
     jamf policy -id #####
fi
exit 0

wubbelsl
New Contributor II

What we actually do where I am at (Casper 9.31 currently) is use the User Interaction Start Message to let them know an update is going to be applied and that {application} needs to be shut down. A one line script:

#!/bin/sh
killall {application}