Search For All Instances Of Java

igarcia
New Contributor II

Newbie here so sorry if this has been asked ( i already search the forums beforehand and found nothing)

We want to create a report in Jamf to detect all versions of Java or any Java App installed. I know other applications it's app name +.app for the value when I create an Application title search, but that didn't work. Assuming since java is added mostly as an extension ( i think).

Any help or other links to how it's done would be appreciated!

Thanks

17 REPLIES 17

tlarkin
Honored Contributor

I just came up with this really quick and I have one java env installed on my device so test test test

#!/bin/zsh
java_vers=$(mdfind -onlyin /Library/Java -name "kMDItemContentType = com.apple.property-list" | xargs -I {} defaults read "{}" CFBundleGetInfoString)
echo "<result>"
echo "${java_vers}"
echo "</result>"

This script assumes you are installing system java in /Library/Java which is the default install location.

output:

% zsh javavers.sh
<result>
Java SE 1.8.0_201
</result>

dlondon
Valued Contributor

@tlarkin - great stuff!

I'm finding that when I have the JRE installed for our users to access a web app with a jnlp form using Java Webstart that there is nothing in /Library/Java. I do see files installed in

/Library/Application Support/Oracle/Java
/Library/Internet Plug-Ins
/Library/LaunchAgents
/Library/LaunchDaemons
/Library/Preferences
/Library/PreferencePanes

From /Library/Application Support/Oracle/Java I can get the java version using

/usr/bin/defaults read /Library/Application Support/Oracle/Java/Info.plist  CFBundleShortVersionString

which in my case gave a result: Java 8 Update 161 build 12

Anyway ... you did say test, test Tom. Thanks for the starter

tlarkin
Honored Contributor