Self Service Error (Non Mac App Store App)

APEX
New Contributor II

Hi all,

I'm very new to Jamf Pro and I've been testing a few things and I'm (already) getting a little stuck, so I am hoping for some help.

For our company we want some basic applications in our Self Service. Some of these (Teamviewer, Microsoft Teams, Adobe Reader) etc. are not in the Mac App Store. I've read that these need to be pushed to Self Service through a policy that contains a package. I've already installed Jamf Composer and made a package of Microsoft Teams. I've tested the package myself by deleting Teams from my own machine and running the package, which perfectly installs Microsoft Teams as it should.

However, when I upload this package and make it a part of the policy, it does appear in Self Service but it fails to download as I get a simple "error" after it tries installing for about 5 seconds. The download circle doesn't even move, really, it just stays as small as a dot.

Does anyone have any experience with this, and is there something I am doing wrong? Below some screenshots. Thanks in advance!

APEX_0-1654178342305.png

APEX_1-1654178382518.png

APEX_2-1654178394954.png

APEX_3-1654178425481.png

APEX_4-1654178457539.png

9 REPLIES 9

YanW
Contributor III

If you don't mind using a script to install, here's one from talkingmoose. Use Teams linkID 869428 to install. If you insist on using the .pkg, can you post the error message? 

junjishimazaki
Valued Contributor

Hi and welcome to Jamf. In the policy where you deployed the software, look in the Log which on the bottom right next to History. It will display the computer you deployed to. You should see a Detail button on the far right under Actions. That will provide you detail information on whether the policy succeeded or failed. And if it failed it will indicate why.

APEX
New Contributor II

Hi and thanks so much for both your answers.