Set multiple monitor background policy

Chris_Holm
New Contributor II

I'm fairly new in learning scripting but google has been a good friend at times. Anyway I have a script that works in ARD to force an image in the /Library/Desktop Images folder as the background for multiple monitors but I can't get it to work from a policy and not certain what I'm doing wrong.

This works in ARD but not from a policy or Casper Remote:
osascript -e 'tell application "System Events" to set picture of every desktop to "/Library/Desktop Pictures/QICDesktop.jpg"'

I've tried adding the #!/bin/sh but still get an error in logs of : Script result: 57:64: syntax error: Expected class name but found application constant or consideration. (-2741)

Any help is appreciated. I'm more of a hardware guy and this may seem fairly easy to some so forgive the rookie scripting question.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

mm2270
Legendary Contributor III

@justin.smith][/url - this isn't true. osascript is a command line binary for running AppleScripts in a shell environment. (short for Open Scripting Architecture) and generally works fine. Its something that's included in every version of OS X since the beginning.

I suspect the reason it isn't working is because ARD tends to run scripts or Unix commands as the current user unless you specify that it run the Unix command as something like root. OS X is very strict about what it allows to run as the user when its being run by another account or in a root context.
/url">@Chris_Holm][/url - take a look at this thread for some information on how you may be able to get this to work, i.e, run the osascript commands as the current user from a policy.
[https://jamfnation.jamfsoftware.com/discussion.html?id=9902

Edit: Just wanted to mention to pay special attention to quoting and escaping in the command in the above linked thread, as they are super important to getting it work right.

View solution in original post

6 REPLIES 6

jssmith
New Contributor III

jssmith