Set QuickTime Player as Default Video Player

smallchange
New Contributor III

Hi All! Any recommendations you might have on this would be appreciated. Disclaimer, I haven't pulled out all the stops on testing this, just looking to see if anyone has a quick solution.

Is there a way to set QuickTime as the default video playback application on client devices via Jamf, through Configuration Profiles or Policy? Or really any method.

I have tried using the custom App payload in the configuration profiles, but I am a noob when it comes to json and plists. I can't even find the proper .plist or preference .plist that is setting Apple TV as the default. Along those lines, any resources on how to utilize that payload would be fantastic :)

Any ideas are appreciated! Thank You!

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

smallchange
New Contributor III

Just following up on this for anyone who may be interested. I ended up getting this to work via Configuration Profile (Application & Custom Settings).

I configured a payload with the com.apple.LaunchServices preference domain, and then uploaded the PLIST illustrated below. 

<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?>
<!DOCTYPE plist PUBLIC "-//Apple//DTD PLIST 1.0//EN" "http://www.apple.com/DTDs/PropertyList-1.0.dtd">
<plist version="1.0">
  <dict>
    <key>LSHandlers</key>
    <array>
      <dict>
        <key>LSHandlerContentTag</key>
        <string>public.movie</string>
        <key>LSHandlerContentType</key>
        <key>LSHandlerRoleAll</key>
        <string>com.apple.quicktimeplayer</string>
      </dict>
    </array>
  </dict>
</plist>

Deployed the configuration profile to my fleet, and voila, videos default to opening with QuickTime, rather than Apple TV.

View solution in original post

7 REPLIES 7

sdagley
Esteemed Contributor II