Splunk and Casper

solomonacquah
New Contributor

Using Splunk with Casper

Casper reports are great, but I soon realized are too much work to run, open in excel and make pretty graphs that management could understand. With that said I decided to implement splunk. I am by no means a splunk expert but with basic knowledge it was quite simple.

1. First off splunk is free, download it. http://www.splunk.com/download. My company was already utilizing splunk but I decided to implement my own server for testing reasons.

2. After splunk was implemented I read up a little and found that splunk has a mysql connector which is great since Casper uses MYSQL. Since I wanted splink to talk to Casper I would need to install the splunk mysqlconnector, which can be found here http://splunk-base.splunk.com/apps/36664/splunk-mysql-connector

3. Now for the Casper part, since you will reading the raw JSS MYSQL database, you will need to first create a read only mysql account so that it can access to the JSS database. You can run a google search to figure that out.

4. I used Mysql workbench to test my queries, but you can use any visual mysql query tool you like.

5. After I confirmed my mysql read-only account worked and was successfully pulling data from the JSS database with my queries I went back to splunk.

For my situation I already had smart groups that were giving me the data, and the data that management wanted, so all I had to do is query mysql for the smart groups I had already created and then tell splunk how and where to display the data. Below is the splunk search I used via the splunk mysql connector.

| mysqlquery spec=Casper_Splunk query="select cg.computer_group_name, count(c.computer_id)
from computer_groups cg
inner join computer_group_memberships cgm
    on cg.computer_group_id = cgm.computer_group_id
inner join computers c
    on cgm.computer_id = c.computer_id
where cg.is_smart_group = 1