updating macos by sending a mass action command require to have an administrator account

Mohamad
New Contributor II

Hi all,

When I am try to make Update by sending a mass action command, ask from end user to enter an Administrator account and PW to install the update, anyone have the same problem?

10 REPLIES 10

ImAMicrosoftGuy
New Contributor III

Hello,

I noticed this, especially on the M1 Macs.  I am new to the Mac world, but my understanding is that on the M1 Macs, only the first account created on the computer is able to run OS updates.  This is the account with the "Secure Token" 

It seems like the Mass Update Action command only works if the computer is turned on and not asleep.  But, it also seems to only update when it feels like it.  I ran a Mass Update Action and one of my iMacs got the update a day later.  Most of our Macs do not update AT ALL using the Mass Update Action.  I've heard suggestions to use the softwareupdate command and use --stdinpass to pass through the Secure Token Account's password,  but that does not work for me.

I have seen scripts to update macOS, but for the M1, you would need to pass the Secure Token Account's password through the script.  Maybe someone else out there knows a solution to this?  I can share the script I have, but it might not be the best as I'm still new to the Mac world

MehdiYawari
New Contributor III

Hello
Well, i dont think so that the problem is "Secure Token". It is correct that only the first account receives the "Secure Token" but if you create a second account on the Mac, this account will also have the "Secure Token". Account created on the device but from outside(z.B Domain user, or using a script to create a user account) will NOT get the "Secure Token". To give the "Secure Token " to a User requires an authentification from an account which already has the secure Token.