Users can't change password - greyed out

sbrage
New Contributor

I'm sure someone's seen this before, I'm still a noob when it comes to administrating Casper. Right now we've got configuration profiles pushed out for our security settings (display message on lock screen, lock after X minutes, etc.) In the profiles, the option to allow users to reset their password IS checked - meaning users should be able to change their password. But in System Preferences>Users & Groups, the Change Password button is greyed out. Doesn't matter if you authenticate as admin user or not. Anyone seen this?

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

youngj
New Contributor II

The work around below seems to work: (from JAMF Support)

The following plist file will be used to upload to the configuration profile:
plist file: /var/db/SystemPolicy-prefs.plist

Do the Following:

1. Make a copy of the plist above and move this to your desktop
  2. Open terminal and run the following command: a. plutil -convert xml1 /path/to/plist_file.plist
  3. Log into the JSS web application
  4. Click the Computers tab
  5. Click Configuration Profiles
  6. Click New
  7. Fill out the general payload and name the configuration profile
  8. Scroll down and click on the Custom Settings payload
  9. Click Configure
  10. For the preference domain please enter the following: a. SystemPolicy-prefs.plist
  11. Click Upload
  12. Navigate to your desktop and choose the SystemPolicy-prefs.plist and upload that file
  13. Click scope and scope this profile to the proper end users
  14. Click Save

View solution in original post

26 REPLIES 26

nessts
Valued Contributor II

that is an Apple bug, i have reported it, they dont seem to care much. JAMF has a bug submitted to Apple as well and have this as a known problem. You cannot use the security profile and have the users be able to change their password. Even if you generate the profiles from profile manager it is broken.

nessts
Valued Contributor II