VPP Computer device deployment not working

EdenJAMFAdmin
New Contributor

What am I missing?

I've been using JSS for iOS deployment for the past 10 months so the VPP account is working as expected. Currently Running version 9.98. We are now trying to implement using JSS for our OSX machines.
I've purchased the free version of the MacOS versions of iMovie, Keynote, Pages, Numbers, Garage Band, and Microsoft Remote Desktop.
I've gone into Mac App Store Apps and set them up so that the Distribution Method is Install Automatically, Scope is all Computers, and VPP has Assign VPP Content selected.
Mac App Store Apps show the total license, in use, and remaining numbers correctly based upon machines that are capable of receiving the files(OS 10.11 machines).

At this point, the apps are not installing.
Looking at the 10.11 machines, under management it shows that the 6 apps are within the scope. Under History the Mac App Store Apps are showing 0 pending, 0 installed, 0 failed.

So what else should I be trying here?

16 REPLIES 16

bumbletech
Contributor III

Based on my observation, a user needs to be logged in.

m_donovan
Contributor III

I just got off the phone with our STAM about this exact same issue. We are currently still on 9.96 though. Here is the KB on the related issue. We are currently testing the fix and it has worked at least so far. Good luck.

https://www.jamf.com/jamf-nation/articles/372/enabling-mdm-for-local-user-accounts

May
Contributor III

If it's a new user make sure that they're shown as MDM enabled in the JSS, usually if i have install issues this is the case,
i get them to log out and back in which usually gets them MDM enabled then i run recon and look at History > Management History to see if it's completed or pending the install.

EdenJAMFAdmin
New Contributor

Eventually the apps appeared as a pending command but do not come down to the work station.

Under management, they are showing up with the username of our management account.