Wacom Tablet install

alstos
New Contributor

I need to install WacomTablet_6.3.36-2.dmg in my mac lab. I put the .dmg into Composer and created a .pkg and added a policy to install it. The policy logs say it successfully installed but it didn't. It is not in Applications nor does the tablet icon show up in System Preferences. I am new to Jamf. Is there another way I should be installing this?

13 REPLIES 13

c_archibald
Contributor II

No reason to reinvent the wheel. The way I do it is open up the DMG, rename the PKG with the version #, copy the PKG into JAMF Admin, create the install policy, and add the PKG as the install package.

I have an update policy that checks the Smart Computer Group policy that compares version with what I tell it is current. If it is out of date, the update policy triggers & runs the install policy. So when updating, update the install policy, then update policy & clear it's logs, then the Out of Date version check. Works for me every time.

alstos
New Contributor

Thank you so much, I will try that!

c_archibald
Contributor II

If you need more specifics, let me know.

alstos
New Contributor

That worked! Thanks again.

alstos
New Contributor

Well, I had a message on the computer that Security and Privacy was blocking the non Apple app install, click to allow it, which I did and authenticated and it installed. Is there a way to accommodate that pop-up so you don't have to finish the install manually at the computer?

c_archibald
Contributor II

How to Allow Apps from Anywhere in macOS Gatekeeper
http://osxdaily.com/2016/09/27/allow-apps-from-anywhere-macos-gatekeeper

lkrasno
Contributor II

lkrasno
Contributor II

@alstos

I personally wouldn't disable Gatekeeper, use a signed application, or sign it yourself.

PPPC

and this

c_archibald
Contributor II

If you can't get a PKG to install cause it says it's unsigned, you can also use JAMF Composer to rebuild & export it. I had to do that to get OBS to install.

mcneillcm