You need to install software to use this printer error

g1za
New Contributor III

Geeze!

I'm having some issues on rebuilt clients installing the drivers for Sharp MX-4012n. There are two policies running. One that installs the drivers and another that has the following script to change permissions:Sudo chmod 775 "/Library/Printers/PPDs/Contents/Resources/SHARP MX-4112N.PPD.gz"

I can see that the PPD is installed and yet i get the You need to install software to use this printer error each time we try and send a print job.

Can anyone help me please????

14 REPLIES 14

damienbarrett
Valued Contributor

I've seen similar behavior with some Epson printer drivers. A restart of the computer after installing the drivers made this error message go away (for us). I have no knowledge or experience with Sharp printers...

g1za
New Contributor III

Unfortunately not, wish it would :)

stevewood
Honored Contributor II
Honored Contributor II

Is the driver you are installing a package from Sharp? Or did you do a capture using Composer of what you need?

Anytime I've had this issue, a re-install of the driver has typically fixed it. However, I use the vendor provided installer and do not do a capture for most of my printers.

bentoms
Release Candidate Programs Tester

@g1za.. We've many Sharp printers, & have found their drivers to be trouble free.

How are you packaging them? Or are you deploying the Sharp pkg?

g1za
New Contributor III

Hi guys,

We've used the package from Sharp and can see that the SHARP MX-4112N.PPD.gz is installed. I've also tried logging in locally to the client and installing the drivers via admin login.

g1za
New Contributor III

Can anyone add to this? Still having the issue ;(

Chris_Hafner
Valued Contributor II

Perhaps this isn't what you're interested in, but we've had enough issues with dealing with this and other CUPS/privilege issues. So, after borrowing several one liners I run the following script at firstboot (or via self-service):