Zero-touch deployment

arnork
New Contributor

I'm new to the Casper Suite–having inherited the installation from a coworker that has since left the company–which means I haven't been through the JumpStart.

What I'm trying to do is to set up a workflow mere mortals can follow to enroll their Macs into JSS.

I'm aware that it's possible to send out an email and that certain WiFi vendors can prompt users to enroll (and even block users who don't), but I'd like to be able to have users NetBoot to install the quickadd package before they start the built-in setup assistant for the first time.

I know I can do this with Deploy Studio, but is it possible to use the Casper Suite for this?

In DS you would create a workflow that would install a leave-behind package that would be installed on the first run, but I'm not finding that functionality in JSS

8 REPLIES 8

bradtchapman
Valued Contributor II

Hello,

There's very little said about your environment, and your post describes a whole lot of Danger to Manifold moments. I have sympathy that you're taking over the job from a guy who just quit, but your knowledge of the Casper Suite product is less than your co-worker. The misuse or misunderstanding of a computer management tool can cause harm to many machines and irrecoverable loss of data in a short period of time.

• Are you confident that 100% of your users can NetBoot and not hose their computers?
  • Are these machines configured with SSH / Remote Login enabled?
  • Is there a known hidden / service / master account (e.g.: "macadmin" )?

What is the HOLY GRAIL of No-Touch Deployment?

257e682c2e3047aa8046e7f3ce17395d

No, that's not it.

d817bfa5520d4491be574a3f2f88c2e3

Sexy, but still not right.

1967692579734c0fafbba7672c0ec024

OK this is just silly and it only rhymes with what we're looking for...

DEP.