Jamf connect, AD group permissions not showing

sbohlson
New Contributor

I'm new to this so I'm sure I making mistakes. We recently setup Jamf and Jamf connect. Now users can log into their Mac using their AD credentials. When a user is added to Jamf our installer set Jamf up to convert that users from a mobile user to a standard user. The problem is that as a standard user if you open terminal and use the id command it will only report back local groups not AD groups. The users access to certain network shares is based off of AD groups. If I force the user to stay as a remote user then all their groups are retained. However if the remote user changes their password it does not automatically sync. I feel like I'm missing something basic. I would like users to be able to login with the AD credentials and have all their AD groups and be able to change their passwords and have it sync. If anyone can point me in the right direction I would appreciate it.

2 REPLIES 2

Jaykrishna1
Contributor II

It sounds like you are encountering issues with group membership and password synchronization for Mac users who are logging in with their Active Directory (AD) credentials. To resolve these issues, you might consider the following steps:

1. Check Jamf Connect and Jamf Pro configurations: Ensure that the configurations for both Jamf Connect and Jamf Pro are set up correctly to support password synchronization and group membership from Active Directory. You can refer to the Jamf Connect and Jamf Pro documentation for guidance on how to properly configure these tools.

2. Verify network connectivity: Ensure that the Mac devices have stable and reliable network connectivity to the Active Directory domain controller. You can run network diagnostics to check for any issues with the network.