Apple Git patching

jfriedel
New Contributor II

Hi all, 

Our Qualys console recently started reporting on Git related vulnerability - CVE-2022-41903
Vulnerable git version detected on our assets: git version 2.37.1 (Apple Git-137.1)

This is the native Git version that comes bundled with the OS. Apple has not yet provided a security update on this one so I'm trying to find a way for doing patching effectively and urgently.
I understand that I can get the latest release (2.39.1) from here: https://git-scm.com/download/mac
However in order to be able to upgrade I would need either Homebrew or MacPorts. The problem here is that none of them seem to be installed to the impacted assets so I would need to deploy one of them first.
I also tried upgrading Git via Git: git clone https://github.com/git/git Unfortunately it's not working.
I'm not really experienced with Git so at this point I'm not sure about the possible best approach to address the vulnerability. I'm also not sure about what was going to happen to the current version of Git upon upgrading. Would the existing version still be available? Asking because this is exactly what happens if I patch .NET Runtime and .Net SDK through JAMF. I just got the new versions deployed along with the old/obsolete/vulnerable version.

Any thoughts are welcome!

2 REPLIES 2

jcaleshire
New Contributor III

If your endpoints haven't installed Git via Homebrew or MacPorts, and installing the newer version leaves the old version in-place, then the likely suspect is Xcode. Xcode's Command Line Developer Tools contain Git by default, so updating the developer tools will likely resolve the vulnerability, assuming a patched version of the tools has been released.

You can run

softwareupdate --list

to see a list of available updates, and somewhere in there you should be able to see something like

Software Update found the following new or updated software:
   * Command Line Tools (macOS Ventura version 13.2) for Xcode-14.2