Adobe Flash through Policy

s_oconnor
New Contributor III

I know this has been discussed in regards to auto updating via a script. (https://www.jamf.com/jamf-nation/discussions/18495/best-way-to-set-flash-player-to-auto-update-your-thoughts)

However, I have not found anything recent for updating flash through a policy. I'm fairly new in JSS (really new and fumble my way through), I have Chrome and FF updating with the newest package I've made. With the configurations I've made, Flash of course does not install, when I try to push as an update, it sits at root and does not install.

I was wondering if someone could point in the right direction for updating Flash (and Java) as well as getting it to install during imaging (without dropping it at root).

We discussed the above script but want to have a bit of hands on, so we can test and make sure it does not affect. The patch reporting was nice for Chrome & FF, since I could use "less than" and go from there, of course that is not available.

Ideas? Thoughts?

Thanks all! :)

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

s_oconnor
New Contributor III

Hey All - Thanks for all the suggestions. It pointed me in the right direction. We actually already had one of our accounts signed up for the Adobe distribution. Grabbed the dmg (or co-worker did for me). It didn't show a pkg. I put that into composer and pkged it. Uploaded it to JSS, tied it to a policy pushed it out to a few test computers. Dropped into root but didn't install.

Next I went to the auto packager. Grabbed it from github, uploaded the pkg to jss, tied that into a policy and this time it at least installed, still dropped it at root though.

Added in a clean up script:

rm -rf Install Adobe Flash Player.app/

Then it was happy. Installed, no left over installer sitting on the computer. Finally good.

Thanks everyone for all the help and pointing me in the right direction. I greatly appreciate it :)

Now I'll follow the same steps to get Java going. :D