Am I ok imaging this way?

aamjohns
Contributor II

In reference to this article:
https://jamfnation.jamfsoftware.com/article.html?id=319
I became concerned.

Currently, I am using the InstallESD.dmg for 10.8.4 with InstaDMG to create an unbooted image for use with Casper Imaging. I have test deployed this on various systems without any known issues. And the kb doc reference by the JAMF post is very non-specific as to issues caused by imaging with InstallESD.dmg.

Note: The InstallESD.dmg file should not be used directly when installing OS X or when creating an image as unexpected results can occur

I would imagine others using Casper are imaging using unbooted InstaDMG created images. Do you have any issues? Am I ok doing it this way? I am also handling the Recovery HD by using this method:
http://managingosx.wordpress.com/2012/08/15/creating-recovery-partitions/
I then run the package on first boot.

I am new to Casper, and new to Mac administration. So before I go deploying this scheme I wanted to double check that this was a proper method to employ.

Thank you.

9 REPLIES 9

bentoms
Release Candidate Programs Tester

I do pretty much the same.

In Casper admin we create compile a configuration with the InstallESD.dmg creating a DMG similar to the InstaDMG method.

Used this since 10.6.x & works well.

scottb
Honored Contributor

FWIW, I've imaged scores of Macs using the InstallESD.dmg. Never done it through Casper, but that's just another variable. I've not seen any issues, although this is the "official line" that I suppose JAMF and others must heed.

dpertschi
Valued Contributor

That article is specifically referring to droping the InstallESD.dmg directly into Casper Admin as the base OS installer. There are many folks on this list that do that though with good results, even though it is not advised or supported.