Applications fail to download from Self Service

ChadL3
New Contributor II

Hopefully someone can help me. I am very new at this. After upgrading to JSS 9.96 I can no longer install software from the Self Service App. Right when it gets to downloading it fails, from the logs it appears it cannot find CasperShare. So I recreated CasperShare in File Sharing in OS X Server, if I open Casper Admin the CasperShare now mounts (which did not before). But still Self Service fails at download.

I kinda fell into supporting this, since taking over I have only updated JSS

Here is what my JAMF Server is...
OS X 10.10.5
OS X Server 5.0.15
JSS and Casper 9.96
No JDS
Tomcat 8.0.36

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

bradtchapman
Valued Contributor II

Hi Chad.

Your log indicates a faillure to download from an HTTP server. Did you intend to use HTTP distribution, or just traditional file shares like AFP/SMB?

If you did not mean to use HTTP, then you need to go to the File Share Distribution point settings in the JSS, and uncheck "Use HTTP" in the third tab.

If you DO want to use HTTP, you'll need to look at the Web Server section of the Mac and ensure that you have the alias set up correctly.

View solution in original post

7 REPLIES 7

bradtchapman
Valued Contributor II

Check:

• File services running on the Mac
  • Distribution point credentials
  • Policy log for this computer

In the policy log, click the Details button next to the last failed event. Copy and paste that here.

Also please open /var/log/jamf.log on the affected computer and paste the last 20 lines or so here.

As you are inserting your log files into the reply box, make a selection of that text and click the >_ symbol to format it as plain text code. There will appear three backticks above and below it.

bradtchapman
Valued Contributor II

Another thing I thought of:

Ensure that you know the usernames of the read/write and read-only accounts. Usually these are casperadmin and casperinstall.