Automatic WiFi Username/Password App - Ideas? Help?

galanop
New Contributor

Hello

I currently work for a school district with about 600 iPads. Our iPads our connected through our PEAP network.

iPads randomly are having issues where they get disconnected from the network and once disconnected, it is requesting a password. Since we do not share our username and password with the teachers, I have to travel to the school and enter the password in manually each time.

I was wondering if any of the clever people in these forums have any suggestions to how this can be resolved without a) opening our network b) giving out the username and password

I was thinking of a simple app that the students can download when they do have internet connection that can automatically enter in the username and password when they don't have an internet connection. Kind of like a WiFi config profile, but local to the iPad so an internet connect is not needed to use it. I have no coding experience so I don't know how hard/easy it is to do this but it was just a thought.

Thank you.

8 REPLIES 8

tobiaslinder
Contributor II
Contributor II

Hi @galanop I think you are searching too far. This is surely not normal behavior and it would make more sense to find the source of the problem.

Are you providing this login information to the iPad over a mobileconfig profile? If so the re-entering of the username and password should not be necessary. Switching off and then on again of the Wifi should do the trick. If not then there must be a serious issue with your wireless.

Rhinehart
Contributor

We sometimes have the same problem. Most of the time if i have the user connect to our guest WiFi, the iPad will reconnect to the JSS, and it gets a new WiFi cert. through a configuration profile. then i just have the switch back to our production network.

galanop
New Contributor