Bluecoat Client Package

bmack99
Contributor III

Hello all, I’m fairly new to JAMF and am struggling with creating a package for the latest Bluecot client via Composer. Trying to package Bluecoat 4.8.1.xxx, and am wondering if anyone else in the community has successfully packaged this version or any prior versions?

Our jumpstart trainer got me going with 4.7.1 awhile back but now it is time to upgrade and neither 4.7.3, 4.7.6, or 4.8.1 are installing correctly after I’ve packaged them via Composer.

Thanks for any advice or resources.

5 REPLIES 5

Eigger
Contributor III

I don't think you still need Composer to package the agent.

First, create a simple script like this,

!/bin/bash

Change the ProxySG with the Client Manager URL

defaults write com.bluecoat.ua cmurl https://<ProxySG>:8084

Then, Just download the dmg file from the Client Manager or BlueCoat website, Mount the dmg file, drag the .pkg file to your Casper Admin and the script you made and save.

Create the policy, Trigger at Login or Check-In, Frequency - One Per Computer, add the package, then add the script (make sure to select "Before" on the priority because the script needs to run before the install of the agent happens) then scope it to all machines need filtering.

bmack99
Contributor III

Eigger- thank you, I will give this a go when I get to the office this morning. Really appreciate the response, perhaps my flaw was not including a script such as this. I will report back what I find after testing.

bmack99
Contributor III

As a followup Eigger - I'm being told that:

"Change the ProxySG with the Client Manager URL

defaults write com.bluecoat.ua cmurl https://<ProxySG>:8084"

is only for an on prem server. We are not hosting a Bluecoat instance on prem and thus do not have a Client Manager URL.
So back to the drawing board for me. I am going to try bypassing Composer completely and just using the .pkg direct from bluecoat and uploading via Casper Admin.

AVmcclint
Honored Contributor