calling osascript as logged in user not working?

jrogersnh
New Contributor III

Hey everyone -

I'm a bit of a newbie with coding, and seem to be running into the issue where my apple script in my script is being called as root from my jamf policy instead of as the logged in user, which is causing a whole mess of issues. I'm attempting to use Popen to switch users with sudo -u, here's my code snippet:

userPopup = <apple script string here> 

#get the current logged in user
user = subprocess.Popen("stat -f '%Su' /dev/console", stdout=subprocess.PIPE, stderr=subprocess.PIPE, shell=True) 
output, error = user.communicate()
accountName = output
accountName = str(accountName).strip()

osa = subprocess.Popen(['sudo', '-u', accountName, 'osascript', '-'], stdin=subprocess.PIPE, stdout=subprocess.PIPE, shell=True)
buttonReturn = osa.communicate(userPopup)
buttonReturn = str(buttonReturn[0]).strip()
print(buttonReturn)

Any ideas why this isn't working correctly? It's throwing errors about the -u flag, and i'm not 100% sure why. I've verified that the accountName variable is populating with the expected value as well.

Thanks in advance!!

3 REPLIES 3

jrogersnh
New Contributor III

The weird part is, I can get it to successfully call the apple script dialog with this code when running on all my test machines:

#call applescript for user popup
    osa = subprocess.Popen(['osascript', '-'], stdin=subprocess.PIPE, stdout=subprocess.PIPE, shell=True)
    buttonReturn = osa.communicate(userPopup)
    buttonReturn = str(buttonReturn[0]).strip()
    print(buttonReturn)

However, when it's sent in a policy set to recurring check-in to our user base, that's when I'm getting the errors about osascript failing out due to it running as the root user.. why would it work on my test machines, when I'm allowing the recurring check in to hit just like it is on our production machines?

Not applicable