Can't expand contents downloaded from Jamf

Fox
New Contributor III

Good morning!

I am trying to open up to view the contents (not install) of a pkg that is a part of the DEP process at my school. I downloaded the pkg (and cached it) from Jamf and I tried to Convert to Source using Composer but it fails. I have also tried using terminal using the 'pkgutil --expand' command and that fails as well. I also tried SuspiciousPackage app and that failed as well (The document “depnotify-with-installers.pkg” could not be opened. The item “depnotify-with-installers.pkg” is not a macOS Installer package, or has been corrupted or modified.).

Any advice on how to view the contents would be great. I'm a semi-new Jamf Admin (6 months in this role) and I want to figure out what is being installed (this way I can edit it if need be).

*I will add that I normally find cached pkgs in the Waiting Room folder and this time around I found it in Receipts (not sure if that matters).

Thanks! 

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Tribruin
Valued Contributor II

Does the package successfully install during enrollment? Are you sure the pkg is actually installing when it should?

I woudl receommend using BIG-RAT/jamfcpr: Replicate packages between Jamf Pro Servers (github.com) . Use the option to "Save Only" to download files from the Jamf distribution point. 

View solution in original post

4 REPLIES 4

Tribruin
Valued Contributor II

Does the package successfully install during enrollment? Are you sure the pkg is actually installing when it should?

I woudl receommend using BIG-RAT/jamfcpr: Replicate packages between Jamf Pro Servers (github.com) . Use the option to "Save Only" to download files from the Jamf distribution point. 

Fox
New Contributor III

That was it! I originally set it as install and then changed it to Cache and I was  apparently too impatient before I ran it!

-It cached no problem this time! 

Thanks so much!

Fox
New Contributor III