Casper AD Bind Breaking Shell

kturnbeaugh
New Contributor III

Please forgive me in advance. I am VERY VERY new to Casper and it was pretty much dumped in my lap. I am having an issue when an AD bind is pushed when imaging, the shell for any network user becomes /usr/bin/tcsh. Local accounts have it listed as /bin/bash and in the Directory Bindings of the JSS it lists Default User shell as /bin/bash.

The only thing we pushed besides the OS and Casper AD bind, was the creation of the Casper Admin account and a local Administrator account.

We have
1. Bound the machine manually. This loads the correct shell of /bin/bash.
2. Deleted out the Directory Binding and added it again, making sure we weren't inputting anything (We had inherited all of the previously created binds from the previous admin).

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

mm2270
Legendary Contributor III

Hmm. Seems like she already checked that from what I'm seeing-

...and in the Directory Bindings of the JSS it lists Default User shell as /bin/bash

I don't know if this is related or helpful, but a few months back we had an issue where seemingly random users setting up their new imaged Macs weren't able to log into their Mac after their account was created from AD.
We dug into this a bit and tracked this down to be related to a change in AD and some behavior of the Apple AD plug-in. Centrify is used in AD here for users who need access to Unix environments, and we found that if a user changed their default shell in their Unix environment to something other than /bin/bash, it was stored in MCX settings by Centrify for their account. Then a change/upgrade in our AD environment suddenly caused the Apple AD plug-in to start reading that value at the time an AD cached mobile account was created. It would set the new account's User Shell value to what was stored in their AD account, such as /bin/csh or whatever, which prevented proper login since OS X expects /bin/bash.