Chrome Preferences

ktaylor25
New Contributor II

Hello. I've done a lot of searching on this, but I haven't found a solution. I feel like this is something that should be easy, but thus far that has not been the case.

All I want to do is set user preferences for Google Chrome, so that when a user opens Chrome for the first time, they don't see the first run prompts, and it takes them to our homepage. I also DO want the users to be able to change the homepage/preferences if they want to. I've seen a lot of suggestions, and I've tried several of them, with inconsistent results. So I figured, okay, I'll just use snapshots. But now I'm getting permission issues and I'm not exactly sure how to solve it. I recently took/passed the CCA, but I am still fairly new to this stuff.

So, I'm using Composer. I take the before snapshot, install/configure chrome, then take the after snapshot. Once the second snapshot is finished, I tried just leaving permissions alone, build as .dmg, and enable FUT. This results in an error message, something along the lines of "Chrome cannot read/write to its data directory."

So I made the package again, and this time selected the Users folder (within Composer) and applied permissions to [user] and all enclosed folders. Build as .dmg and enable FUT. This results in Chrome just crashing immediately with no error message at all. I also tried making two different packages.. one for Google Chrome.app, and one for the preference files.. but I still get the same permission issues. I guess I don't understand how these permissions are supposed to be set for user preferences. Can someone help me out?

Thanks in advance!

2 ACCEPTED SOLUTIONS

msnowdon
Contributor

I just recently researched this as well. Through several different posts and Chrome documentation, this is what Ive come up with. There are Preferences and there are Policies. If it's a setting you want users to be able to change, you want to use Preferences.

Preferences: