Configuration Profile to block Chrome Extensions

shoch
New Contributor III

Newbie here,

I've created a Configuration Profile with a "custom setting" to upload a plist that I created, with the help of other threads, that blocks certain Chrome Extension like Ultrasurf and Touch VPN.

These wonderful extensions allow students to get around our firewall and access things we don't want them accessing.

However, it deploys great but once deployed, all the student have to do is shut down the computer and restart Chrome, they can go right back to these extensions via the Chrome Store and they've got them.

Is there a way to "repush" if you will, the profiles? They're showing up in the students profile list but they're no longer effective.

Any ideas?

11 REPLIES 11

boberito
Valued Contributor

I'm not sure how they're removing the profiles? Because once it's pushed, it's on the computer. We're doing the same thing in fact and some other chrome settings.

Also you may want to block a few more than just those few...I've been on this cat and mouse hunt for a few years and have quite the extensive list.