Configurator, DEP, and Supervision

smith_kyle
New Contributor III

I work in a school district and we have deployed a lot of iPad centers/labs, and have been setting each device up by hand (completing setup assistant/enrolling to specific lab user, signing in with appropriate Apple ID, downloading apps, etc.). It would be nice to be able to prepare a master image for some lab cases (at least to prepare it to a point that wouldn't involve so much work on the glass) using Configurator.

I know that Configurator now supports an enrollment URL, which I believe works with DEP(?), but it's not clear if devices run through configurator that are in DEP get supervised by the JSS, or if they can only be supervised by the configurator workstation. It seems slightly counterintuitive for the latter to be the case, which would result in devices prepared in configurator that are in DEP being enrolled in the JSS, but supervised by the workstation, whereas other devices that are in DEP enrolled OTA get supervised by the JSS.

Anyone have a firm answer on this? Or perhaps a better way to deploy multiple iPads requiring the same image (for the most part) without manually setting up each device?

3 REPLIES 3

joshuasee
Contributor III

It takes some setup, but yes, what you describe is doable. This scenario is a large part of why the Device Enrollment Program exists.

Here, when a device arrives, there serial number is scanned off the packaging and it is assigned an asset tag, which becomes its name. I the enroll them by serial number in the DEP, designating our JSS as the managing server. In the JSS, I set up a prestage enrollment with the name/asset tag set, scoped to the serial number which the JSS gets from the DEP. We set one prestage per device to force the name, cloning them to make new ones, but you can assign as many devices to a prestage as you like if the name isn't important to you. I don't need to touch the devices during this process.