Connecting to JSS DB

mqh7
New Contributor II

I downloaded SequelPro. When I launch it I am asked for the HOST name. I enter our server name (where JSS is installed and it's also the server I installed SequelPro on) and it says It can't find the host. "Unable to connect"

how do you normally connect using this tool? I know I'm an Admin so it's not a rights issue.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

jarednichols
Honored Contributor

Try MySQL Workbench instead. It's actually from MySQL instead of some other third party.

View solution in original post

17 REPLIES 17

jarednichols
Honored Contributor

Yes, it is a rights issue. You're connecting to MySQL, not the box.

https://jamfnation.jamfsoftware.com/article.html?id=114

mqh7
New Contributor II

Interesting, thanks. I've tried what you said and I still can't connect. I am NOT using a domain ID. I'm trying to use a Local account. I RDC into our Mac/JAMF server using ADMIN and the local ADMIN password. So maybe I'm doing the GRANT SELECT syntax wrong. What should I type giving the following information.

User name: Admin Server name: JSS-ADMIN1 (admin is a local account on this box)
password: JSS1ADM2

mqh7
New Contributor II

I notice I get this error: MySQL said "Host JSS-ADMIN1 is not allowed to connect to this MySQL server.

donmontalvo
Esteemed Contributor III

mqh7
New Contributor II

Donmontalvo, our JSS environment is up and running. I can access it all from the web portal. So the DB is configured. I just need to create my own custom reports. I've tried installing sequelpro and tried to have it connect to our DB but it does not connect.

How can I confirm what my issue is? Is there a log file sequelpro creates? Evenlog information on the Mac?

jarednichols
Honored Contributor

Did you create a SQL user or are you trying to log in with the OS user?

mqh7
New Contributor II

OS user.

donmontalvo
Esteemed Contributor III

mqh7
New Contributor II