Delay after copy/before reboot

hbatelaan
New Contributor II

Hi,
I've build a new Netboot image to deploy a new Casper image and I'm running into a couple of problems with both images. I'm rather new at Casper Suite software so please bear with me.

First the Netboot image. It doesn't seem to matter if I build the image with System Image Utility and/or the Netboot Automator Action. Problems stay the same.

Problem 1. I Netboot with my new image and rollout one of my default configurations. This one is called 'General 10.7'. It installs my 10.7 image and copies Adobe and Office 2011 software. After the Office 2011 copy, the machine needs to be restarted. However, it sticks for a while on the 'Copying Installer...' window (from Office 2011). It has finished it as far as I can tell and the progress bar is at 100%, but then the reboot command already kicks in. After about a minute I get the default Finder error that a logout/reboot wasn't possible due to Casper Imaging still being active. After again a couple of seconds it reboots anyway.

So the question: can I build in a delay anywhere (and how?) to prevent this error from happening?

Additional question: can you prevent in any way that the Netboot image is being indexed (pulsating Spotlight icon), which consumes recources as well I can imagine?

7 REPLIES 7

nextyoyoma
Contributor

You can completely turn off spotlight indexing until the next reboot with the following command:

sudo launchctl unload -w /System/Library/LaunchDaemons/com.apple.metadata.mds.plist

If you want to disable it permanently, you can also remove the file indicated there (or rename it to be safe.) If your net boot image is read-only, then you will either have to convert it to read-write and back or make a new image with the file removed. Either way, you cannot make the change while booted to the image, since it will revert back when you reboot.

talkingmoose