dockuti-command not found

johnnasset
Contributor

I just started playing with dockutil and am encountering an error when attempting to add a url to the dock. The command is:

sudo dockutil --add http://someaddresshere.com --label 'Website' --after Downloads

The web clip gets added in the appropriate location but the label isn't changed. The message in Terminal is:

-bash: --label: command not found

This is running the latest version of dockutil 1.1.4 on 10.8.4.

Thanks,
John

2 ACCEPTED SOLUTIONS

mm2270
Legendary Contributor III

Indeed it is. Placing what you have above as an example into the command gives me the same error. Fortunately the simple workaround in a quick test is to surround the URL in single quotes-

sudo dockutil --add 'http://xxx.xxx.org/lms/sm.view?headless=1&action=home' --label 'Website' --after Downloads

Works fine for me like that.

View solution in original post

bentoms
Release Candidate Programs Tester

There is a default dock.plist in the resources folder of the Dock.app located in /System/Library/CoreServices/

I deploy that to all user templates & then use dockutil to edit.

I also delete the dockfixup.plist

View solution in original post

19 REPLIES 19

russeller
Contributor III

Have you tried a different OS to see if is specific to 10.8? I know dockutil and 10.8 don't really get along.

mm2270

The 1.1.4 release is supposed to be fully 10.8 compatible though. I'm still using version 1.1.2 on my 10.8.5 Mac, and I copied/pasted the above command and ran it and had no issues. It added a Dock icon labeled as "Website" with the generic URL icon to my Dock right after Downloads. No errors. So I'm not sure why you'd be getting that error other than possibly version 1.1.4 has broken that function?

Not applicable

Version 1.1.4 worked as expected for me on OS X 10.8.5, logged in under a mobile account with local admin rights using AD creds.