Error: This script must be run at the login trigger

honda03v6
New Contributor

I am getting this message after trying to manually run the script in Casper Remote. I am new to all this so I might be missing some info in the script itself. I am trying to run mountNetworkShare.sh so any user that logs in their network drives will automatically re-map. The policy clearly shows it is triggered by login so I am not sure why I am getting this error. Any help on this would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks

4 REPLIES 4

mm2270
Legendary Contributor III

So, at first you mentioned trying to run it in Casper Remote, but later mention a policy. Which is it? Because if you're trying it through Casper Remote, that's why you're getting the error. That script is designed to be triggered by a user logging in so the loginhook script can capture the user information. If you do it via Casper Remote, that's not seen as a login trigger.

If you look at the script in a text editor, you'll see the first line under the SCRIPT CONTENTS section that states:

loginUsername="$3"

That defines the Casper $3 variable as the user's name. That only works when done via a login trigger or in a Self Service policy.

In short, you can't run this script through Casper Remote unless you modify it.

Hope that helps

honda03v6
New Contributor

Ok, thanks I did not know that. I was only trying it in Casper Remote because it failed as a Self Service policy as well so I wanted to see the logs of it. Where exactly do I edit the script then for this one? Maybe I am putting my info in at the wrong place? I do not need to create a package for this script correct?

Thanks again

mm2270
Legendary Contributor III

Well, are you using Kerberos in your environment? Or are users logged in with local accounts? I don't use this script myself, but looking through it I see that its really designed to work best in a Kerberos setup.