Exclude LDAP users from Restricted Software?

junderwood
New Contributor III

Hello JAMFNation!

I'm a relative noob. My company has restricted DropBox via the "Restricted Software" feature in JAMF. How do I add LDAP users to the exclusions list? Not seeing an obvious answer to this elsewhere on JAMFNation.

We already have a few LDAP users on the exclusions list for this restriction, I just need to add one more. But when I select "Scope" and then try add an additional exclusion, I get only the option to exclude computers, buildings, groups, or departments.

Thanks!

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

junderwood
New Contributor III

We were running v9.61. Just updated to v9.65 and the issue is now resolved. I guess it stopped working at some point in 9.61, but 9.65 fixed it. LDAP exclusions option appears as it should. Thanks for the help!

View solution in original post

9 REPLIES 9

mm2270
Legendary Contributor III

EDIT: Ah, I didn't read your post fully. I see that you tried the steps below. Sounds to me like your JSS isn't actually tied into your LDAP environment. You need to go into System Settings > LDAP Servers and make sure you add your LDAP servers there before the option will be available to you in anything else within the JSS UI.

EDIT 2: It may also be a permissions issue. Are you the one who added in the original LDAP exclusions? If not, ask the admin who set them up if you have the proper JSS permissions to do it. You may not have that.

Go into your JSS and into the Restricted Software item in question.
Click on Edit if necessary to make sure you're in the Edit mode.
Click on the Scope tab, then on the Exclusions tab
Click the +Add button. In the view that comes up, assuming you've connected your JSS to your LDAP environment, you should see a tab called LDAP/Local Users. Click on that.
Add in the LDAP account by the name you want to add to the Exclusion.
Click Save.

junderwood
New Contributor III