FileVault 2 with Zero Touch Deployment - Best Practices?

NullPointer
New Contributor III

I'm new to Jamf, and I've recently inherited a Jamf network of about 200 Macs. My current task is to get Zero Touch Deployment fully functional, so we don't have to do any manual staging on Macs before they are handed to the users. (We are part of Apple's DEP/VPP, and that much works fine.)

tldr; What is the best way to enable FileVault 2 so it deploys automatically, as silently as possible, as soon after initial enrollment as possible?

My goal is to have all of the Macs have FileVault 2 enabled, with the individual encryption recover keys redirected to Jamf server.

I've experimented with both a Configuration Profile, assigned to the PreStage Enrollment, and with a Policy, and both have rough edges that I'm not sure how to smooth out.

There are two specific things that I'd like to remedy:

1) It always pops up and tells the user their recovery key, and cautions them to keep it in a safe place. Is there any way to hide this without resorting to an Institutional Recovery Key? I don't mind users having their recovery key, but I don't like that part of the setup process requires advanced explanation (e.g., you don't need to keep your key, we keep it for you) - I'd rather it be as silent as possible so they don't have to worry about it.