Google updater/ksadmin

bauer_cole
New Contributor

I didn't realize it before it was too late, but it seems there is no way to shut off Google update services without deleting certain files ahead of time. Now that we have deployed our software I need a way to delete the ksadmin utility out of the local user's library folder. Is there a way to do this? I assume some sort of script would work, but unfortunately I'm not that good at scripting.

The reason I need to get rid of this is we block all apps outside of the Applications folder, therefore the user gets warnings about ksadmin not being one of their privileges. And even if I allow ksadmin to run (as a temporary solution) it leads on to another file and another after that. So I just need to delete ksadmin. For reference it is located in ~/Library/Google/GoogleSoftwareUpdate/GoogleSoftwareUpdate.bundle/Contents/MacOS

23 REPLIES 23

mm2270
Legendary Contributor III

Just do an 'rm /path/to/file'
Since I don't have this file on any of my systems, I can't test this, so do the due diligence and test test test, but this should work, as long as you use it in a once per user policy triggered by Login. Since its a one-liner, just drop it into the Run Command in the Advanced tab rather than saving as a script.

rm /Users/$3/Library/Google/GoogleSoftwareUpdate/GoogleSoftwareUpdate.bundle/Contents/MacOS/ksadmin

But, are you sure deleting this doesn't have any other negative side effects? Have you looked to see if the ksadmin executable has any flags that you can use to disable the updater services?
I would make sure before you summarily delete it across your systems.

tkimpton
Valued Contributor II

You can white list it via mcx.

Thats what i do using Work Group Manager.

Also i successfully snapshot using Composer, then set the autoupdater with the local admin details.